Thai Lettuce Wraps

May 9, 2010 at 2:53 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I want to start out by saying that cooking has not always been a successful endeavor for me.  In fact, that is a really big understatement.  During our first two years of marriage, I can distinctly remember many (many) meals that my husband graciously suffered through.  He would eat entire plates of things that would make me gag… what a man 🙂

I think my biggest problem was trying to make things too complicated.  People who aren’t naturally talented chefs should stick with recipes and one type of ethnic flavor at a time.  Unfortunately, I learned this too late.  I would create dishes that included the flavors of every country in the world.. at one time.  Asian/Italian fusion, anyone?  you see what I mean.

The turning point was when I discovered healthy living blogs.  They kept it simple! that was something I could do.  Josh and I have drastically changed our eating habits over the last few years, which really helps too.  The great thing about clean eating is that you get to enjoy the natural flavor of the food itself, which definitely makes things easier. 

This is actually a recipe I made up myself (I know, dangerous territory!).. however, I made sure the ingredients were within the same ethnic category 🙂 I am learning!

Thai Lettuce Wraps

Base:
1 lb extra lean ground turkey
1/2 lb chopped mushroom
4 mini sweet peppers, chopped

Sauce:
1/4c light soy sauce
1 tsp toasted sesame oil
Sweetener of your choice, to taste (we used agave)
Hot chilli sauce (optional, to taste)

Toppings:
Chopped red onoin
Crushed peanuts

Directions:

Cook the turkey in a frying pan until halfway done.  Add mushrooms and peppers and cook until the turkey is no longer pink.  Add soy sauce, sesame oil and sweetener and cook until all components are combined. 

Cut a head of butter lettuce in half and seperate the leaves until you have pieces slightly bigger than the palm of your hand.  Wash them and heat in the microwave for 30 seconds.

Scoop the meat and vegetable mixture on top of the lettuce and top with the toppings of your choice.  Wrap it up and enjoy!

See mom and dad? we are not starving over here in Colorado 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

